### Monarch at Sea Pines Owners' Association, Inc.

Annual Meeting October 24, 2023

The Annual Meeting of Monarch at Sea Pines Owners' Association, Inc., was held on October 24, 2023, at the offices of Marriott Vacation Club, Board Room, 1044 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina 29928.

**Present from the Board of Directors were:** Ronald Marks, President; Edward Brennan, Vice President; William Klein, Treasurer; Eileen Fitzgerald, Secretary; Nancy Barbee, Director and Daniel Tovar, Director

Present from Marriott Vacation Club® International, representing the Management Company, were: Rob Welch, Vice President, Vacation Ownership; Wayne Hulme, Assistant Vice President, Finance-East Region; Birgit Koellner-Gozlan, General Manager; Mark Heldt, Market Director of Finance; Joe Gari, Director of Engineering; Romaine Guerrini, Financial Analyst; Sarah Simmons, Financial Manager and Scott Wilson, Guest Relations Manager

There were eight Owners present as evidenced by the sign-in sheet to be attached to the approved minutes of record.

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Ronald Marks, President, called the meeting of Monarch at Sea Pines Owners' Association, Inc., to order at 3:30 p.m., Eastern time.

# ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM

Mr. Marks verified and announced the quorum requirement of at least 25% of the required statutory value of 123 units represented either in person or by Limited Proxy had been met.

# APPOINTMENT OF RECORDING SECRETARY

Mr. Marks appointed Scott Wilson to serve as Recording Secretary.

# PROOF OF NOTICE OF ANNUAL MEETING

Notice of Annual Meeting was mailed to all Owners of record on September 25, 2023. The Affidavit of Mailing was filed with the Association records.

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Edward Brennan to approve the Agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by William Klein and unanimously carried.

# **APPROVAL OF 2022 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES**

A motion was made by William Klein to approve the October 25, 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Edward Brennan and unanimously carried.

# APPOINTMENT OF INSPECTOR OF ELECTION

Mr. Marks appointed Sarah Simmons to serve as Inspector of Election. Mr. Marks opened the floor to nominations. There being none, nominations were closed. Mr. Marks requested any outstanding ballots be turned into Ms. Simmons.

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS REPORT**

Mr. Marks presented the Board of Directors report. Highlights included:

- Insurance increase
- Sea Pines Resort Easement
- 2042 Timeshare Plan

### RESORT OPERATIONS REPORT

Birgit Koellner-Gozlan presented an update on resort operations. Highlights included:

Guest Satisfaction Survey scores

- Department updates
- Upcoming projects

### FINANCIAL REPORT

Mark Heldt presented a financial report. Highlights included:

2022 financials were audited by Crowe LLP, an independent auditing firm and received the highest level of assurance the Association can receive; the Balance Sheet, Operating Fund, and Reserve for Replacement Fund are all presented fairly in all material respects. The Operating Fund ended 2022 with a life to date surplus fund balance of \$446,509. The Reserve Fund ended with a life to date fund balance of \$3,006,658.

# 2024 Maintenance Fee Budget

The Board approved the 2024 Budget and related maintenance fee at the Board of Directors Meeting held earlier in the day. The 2024 Maintenance Fee Budget is as follows: Operating Fee - \$7,794,075, Property Taxes - \$852,454 and Reserve Fee - \$3,639,517 for a total 2024 Maintenance Fee of 1,997.74 for each Owner of a 2-Bedroom unit and \$3,995.44 for each Owner of a Crowne Suite for a total budget of \$12,286,046.

# **VOTING RESULTS**

Ms. Simmons announced the voting results:

 Debbie Corzine and David Eisenreich were each elected to serve a three-year term on the Board of Directors

### **NEW BUSINESS**

Announcement of 2024 Annual Meeting Date

The 2024 Annual Meeting is scheduled for October 8, 2024.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made by William Klein to adjourn the meeting at 3:55 p.m. The motion was seconded by Edward Brennan and unanimously carried.

Submitted by:		Approved by:	
Scott Wilson	Date	Ronald Marks	Date
Recording Secretary		President	

These minutes are subject to approval at the 2024 Annual Meeting